Practicing some Shading

Something a bit different today – not Lego! I’m trying to branch out in my (what I euphemistically call) art: specifically shading (a fancy way of saying ‘colouring in’ from what I can tell).

Shepard Shaded

Click on it for a larger image. The line art most definitely isn’t mine, but I’ve had it on my computer for a while now. I can’t find a link to the original line art, but search of ‘commander shepard line art’ brings it as one of the first images. Here’s a link a shaded version by the original artist. All credit should go to them

Yesterday I found a ‘Digital Painting in 5 EASY STEPS’ tutorial which I’d thought I’d try out. This image is the result.

I’ve only really done steps 1 to 3 from the tutorial (maybe a bit of step 4), but I’m quite happy with how it’s turned out (although I really shouldn’t be that impressed with it: it’s hardly the greatest bit of art out there). Rather than just leave it to gather dust on my hard drive, I’d though I’d upload it here.

I did make some changes to the original line art. I removed the scarring from the face, smoke from the gun barrel and the pistol from the left hip.

I could have probably made the contrast between light and dark a bit greater. I shaded it in the order of face, then body, then gun. I was getting a little bored towards the then, so I lower legs and the gun itself aren’t as well shaded as other parts. Oh well, it’s for my own learned and wasn’t planning on putting it up here.

This entry was posted in Mass Effect, Not Lego and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

