Mass Effect Minifigures (Part 1)

Let’s now look at some of my minfigures from the game Mass Effect.

Commander ShepardZaeed Massani

I should be noted that most of these have not been worked on for a while and aren’t really finished. I’ve since created a better chest piece, this one in these images is slightly too wide. I intent to transfer these designs over the new design, so will do the improvements I’ve outlined below then.

On with the show.

Commander Shepard.

Commander ShepardCommander ShepardCommander ShepardCommander Shepard

Where else can we start but with Shepard?

Now, depending on the contrast setting of the device your seeing this on (and/or the brightness of where you are), you might not be able to see any of the detail. When I redo this, I’ll make the gray slightly lighter to make the black lines stand out more.

Commander Shepard

The assault rifle is my own design, based on the Avenger assault rifle from the game. The model itself is bit of a mix bag model wise. There are light low detailed parts to it (the stock and the main body mostly) and some over detailed parts (the sight and barrels mostly).

Commander ShepardCommander ShepardCommander ShepardCommander Shepard

The helmet could be better, especially the back, but it was a pain to make so it’ll stay as it is. At the time I didn’t have a very good images of it, so I was using a couple of screen shots I had taken in game and my own memory. It turns out I had misremembered how the back goes, and also that Shepard Mass Effect 2 helmet is slightly different to her Mass Effect one. The differences aren’t that noticeable (at least to me) so chances are few will notice (and fewer will care).

Commander ShepardCommander ShepardCommander Shepard

The face is my own design (sort of). I used the Princess Leia head from the Hoth Echo Base set and modified it by removing the eye shadow, parts of the eye lashes and added in the check bones. Hair is my own design, based on one of the hair styles in the game. It’s not entirely successful although I am pleased at how it came out. It could do with some more detail and some of the ridges could do with some exaggerating. But that’s probably not going to happen.

Zaeed Massani

Zaeed MassaniZaeed MassaniZaeed Massani

This isn’t as much finished minifigure as an abandon one. The body is ok, although the central panels are a bit too pink and the orange on the leg is the wrong shade. The head is definitely work in progress but it shows the basics of how it’ll look if I ever get around to finishing it.

I did have a piece made for the shoulder guard, which sort of fitted in with the design on the body. I’ve managed to lose it some how, but it wasn’t that good so you’re not missing anything.

I went with no hair for the character, because really short hair doesn’t work in Lego and the standard male minifigure hair piece just looked wrong.

Tali’Zorah nar Rayya

Tali'Zorah nar RayyaTali'Zorah nar RayyaTali'Zorah nar RayyaTali'Zorah nar Rayya

Now, this is probably the best of the lot and a favourite of me. I did have a Mass Effect version of her (this design is from Mass Effect 2) but lost that one somehow. The hood is probably the wrong shade of purple, it should be closer to the shade on the body, but I quite like it as it is. The whole head piece design does affect how far you can twist the head however.

The pistol is again my own model, from one of the weapons I liked look of from the game. I’ve an idea to give her an omi-tool in the other had, but haven’t been able to create a good looking one yet.

Liara T’Soni

Liara T'SoniLiara T'SoniLiara T'Soni

The head piece needs a bit of touching up to smooth out the edges (especially along the side on the head) and probably wants some printing done on it. The face also needs some work. It shows where I’m heading in its design if nothing else. In truth it’s barely a first draft. There’s not a lot of contrast between the dark green of the tunic and the black, so some detail is lost, so I’ll have lighten that shade of green too. When I redo it, I’m intending for the design to flow onto the waist and leg pieces.

This entry was posted in Mass Effect, Work in Progress and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

